Okay, so it’s not the same as the Lakes District in England, where Unitarian writer Beatrix Potter lived, but it is lovely. I’m talking about my trip to the Iowa Lakes region last weekend–to Okoboji, specifically, where I preached at an emerging congregation there. I had a wonderful time, in spite of arriving just five minutes before the service began (I got lost in a cornfield somewhere in southern Minnesota…thanks, Google maps!). I was greeted at the door of the Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center by a member of the fellowship, and was made to feel right at home (I hope all visitors are greeted that way!). I’m sorry I missed the coffee hour, which takes place before the service, but I was pleased to be a guest of the congregation at a buffet that immediately followed the service. As I mentioned to one of my table mates, one of my favorite definitions of church is: gather the people, break the bread, share the stories. To that, I would add, and change the world. At any rate, you can see pictures of the trip on my Flickr page (here), and you can download a revised copy of the sermon I preached (Losing My Religion). I’ll be preaching this version in Dallas, Texas this coming Sunday. Whoo-hoo!

